The Brave Warriors will have to do without the “Range Rover” Ryan Nyambe and Ananias Gebhardt when they take on Liberia and Tunisia in the FIFA World Cup Qualifiers early next month. Namibia will host Liberia and Tunisia on the 5th of June & 9th June 2024 in Johannesburg, South Africa at the Orlando Stadium.

Collin Benjamin, Brave Warriors head coach touched base on the first days of the training sessions.

“ We are impressed by the players, the first days of camp focused on individual tactics just to have an understanding on how far the players are; especially the young players from the Nedbank Namibian Newspaper Cup, this week we moved into group tactics and during that process we had to trim down the squad from 52 to 35 players, the group is smaller and makes it easier for the technical team to go more in depth. Most of the young players had to return for examinations but we will continue keeping an eye on them and we encouraged them to find teams in the Premier League or 1st Division, to help develop their skills.”

Speaking on injuries and the squad, Benjamin explained that.

Ananias is not part of the set up anymore and we must applaud him for the work he did over the years and Ryan Nyambe communicated that he will be unavailable because he is doing rehab this is a small blow, but we remain optimistic because we have a young squad that is eager to play and win and we will work with that.

He adds that they had to rope in Kamaijanda Ndisiro back in the squad.

“The plan was to play the World Cup Qualifiers with Kazapua and COSAFA with Maova and there was a spot open, we wanted a younger goal keeper to come and learn from the experienced two goalkeepers instead of having Ndisiro just sitting on the bench and not playing but with AmaTuks palying play-off, Maova might not be around so we had to call back Ndisiro to take that spot but nothing changes. Omitting Ndisiro was never about anything else but just planning and giving space to younger guys to learn and be inspired.

The dropped players are: Pandeni Kandjabanga, Zuze Mutafela Vetapi, Tomo Tonateni Haindongo, Cruz Engelbrecht, Maurizio January ,Rouven Tjihumu, Namayabona Matengu,Lukas Mbamba,Marek Kapuwo