Gladiators will rise to the occasion against Botswana

Kasaona  and coleman.jpg

Brave Gladiators are expected to rise to the occasion on Friday night as they take on Botswana in Gaborone in the first round first leg match of the 2020 Tokyo Olympics Games Qualifier with Captain Zenatha Coleman to lead the charge.

Gladiators coach Brain Isaacs express his content with the players at his disposal ahead of the game and revels in the talent and skills of the Namibian women.

“We have the talent and potential to get a score away from home and the players are hyped up and ready to work on Friday. We take it game by game and it is important for us to get to the second round of this qualifiers,” Isaacs states.

The experienced coach adds that Botswana will be tough but they have a plan for them. “They will be coming at us and we need to contain them and use our speed and skills to hurt them. Zenatha will be key for us going forward and with free kicks and so, we need to be smart all the time. We have a good chance in this fixture and if we play well we can get the desired result. The team will rise to the occasion this time around,” reveals Isaacs.

Namibia play Botswana over two legs with the first leg away in Gaborone on 5 April while the return leg is in Windhoek four days later. Germany-based Veweziua Kotjipati and Zenatha Coleman, based in Spain, joined the team in Gaborone to complete the 20 players that coach Brain Isaacs need for the clash.

The match will be played at the National Satdium in Gaborone at 18h00 on Friday and the two teams will meet again on Tuesday, 9 April at the Sam Nujoma at 18h30. The winner over the two legs will face South Africa in the second round.

Zambia or Zimbabwe will then await in the third round. They are will be fourth and fifth round with the winner of the fifth round qualifying for the 2020 Olympic Games and the losers to try their luck against Chile for a place in Tokyo.

Here are the Brave Gladiators in Botswana: Mellissa Matheus, Ester Hamukwaya, Lydia Eixas, Ndapewa Katuta, Emma Naris, Uerikondjera Kasaona, Lovisa Mulunga, Lorraine Jossop, Twelikondjela Amukoto, Veweziua Kotjipati, Millicent Hikuam, Beverly Uueziua, Memory Ngonda, Juliana Blou, Julia Rutjindo, Asteria Angula, Kylie van Wyk, Zenatha Coleman, Thomalina Adams and Anna Marie Shikusho.