Kauapirura wins the Debmarine Cup for Stars


Treasure Kauapirura came off the bench to head home the decider on 75 minutes in the thrilling 2018 Debmarine Namibia Cup final to hand African Stars a 1-0 victory over UNAM at a packed and windy Sam Nujoma Stadium on Saturday night.

African Stars completed their 2017/18 football season double , having already won the MTC Premiership last month and on Saturday taking the flagship competition of the Namibia Footfall Association (NFA), the Debmarine Namibia Cup with victory over UNAM.

The experienced Treasure Kauapirura replaced Alfeus Handura at the start of the second half and on 75 minutes was so focused that raced to meet the ball from a corner kick taken by Aubrey Amseb from the left, directing the ball across the face of goal into the far post, leading to an explosive chorus of jubilation at the centre of Namibian football from the Stalile faithful.

The two sides came into the match cautious and well aware of taking chances and avoiding mistakes at the back and Stars had Ronald Ketjijere and Handura in midfield, against the promising and reliable Marcell Papama and captain Heinrich Isaacks, while in attack Amseb and Panduleni Nekundi were supported by Godwin Jena and Edwin Korukuve for Stars. Tara Katupose led the line for UNAM with his supporting cast comprising of Papama, Manchester United McGyver and Bornface Siyanga.

Try as they may, the only chance of the first half came midway with Ketjijere letting one go from range only for Charles Uirab in the UNAM goal to tip it over for corner kick.

In the second half, Papama and Isaacks wasted a freekcik in a promising position while McGyver was also guilty of holding onto the ball for too long. UNAM also had a glorious chance to force the game into extra time when Edmund Kambanda found space in the box and his first time shot was miraculously kept out by Mbazuvara’ s right leg and cleared for safety in added time.

In the end, it was African Stars and their coach Bobby Samaria who repeated the feat they last achieved in 2010, who were crowned 2018 Debmarine Namibia Cup champions and received a cheque of N$ 500 000 while UNAM were consoled with N$ 250 000. Godwin Jena of Stars and Civics’ Donald Geiseb shared the Top Goal scorer award, N$ 10 000 each for their respective eight goals while Samaria got the Coach of the Tournament award that came with N$ 15 000.

Mbazuvara won the Goalkeeper of the Tournament award (N$ 15 000) while Papama is the Player of the Tournament and receives N$ 20 000. Match Referee Nehemia Shovaleka got the Referee of the Tournament award ( N$ 10 000) and his assistant Isaskar Boois, the Assistant Referee of the Tournament gog ( N$ 10 000).