Brave Warriors poised to face Zimbabwe


Brave Warriors coach Ricardo Mannetti on Thursday announced 18 players to face Zimbabwe on Sunday in the 2018 Confederation of Africa Footfall (CAF) Africa Nations Championships (CHAN) qualifiers in the second round first leg match at the Sam Nujoma Stadium.

Mannetti, who was awaiting the registration of a few player before announcing his final team for the encounter was excited to have striker Hendrick Somaeb and Roger Katjiteo as well as well midfielders Petrus Shitembi and Absalom Iimbondi cleared to face the Cosafa champions on Sunday.

“These players boost the team immensely and compliment the others as well. We are facing a very tough Zimbabwe team that have active players and champion players and for us our players need to put in the extra effort on Sunday if were are to have a chance against Zimbabwe,” Mannetti says.

He adds that Zimbabwe had various options and were coming here with a mission of winning and the Brave Warriors will have to be clinical in their approach.

“ We have to throw punches, big punches on Sunday and we need to covert our chances. They will fight back as well. We have the problem of scoring and hopefully on Sunday we can get past that. All players need to score not just the strikers and I expect the midfielders too to assist and score goals. It will should be a collective effort on Sunday. We have to die for the jersey and play our socks off” states Mannetti.
The coach also rallies the public to come and support the boys on Sunday.
“ I expect our people to come and support the boys on Sunday after church. The teams needs this more than ever and we have to come and encourage them together. We all know that times are tough and we need to forge ahead together”, Mannetti calls.

The match will take place on Sunday, 15h00 and tickets are selling for N$ 30 each on Computicket at Shoprite and Checkers sores countrywide.

Brave Warriors to face Zimbabwe: Lodyt Kazapua, Edward Maova and defenders- Tiberius Lombard, Charles Hambira, Ferdinand Karongee, Riaan Hanamub, Larry Horaeb, Edmund Kambanda, midfielders- Ronald Ketjijere (captain), Dynamo Fredericks, Immanuel Heita, Benyamin Nenkavu, Petrus Shitembi, Absalom Iimbondi, strikers- Itamunua Keimuine, Hendrick Somaeb, Roger Katjiteo and Muna Katupose.