Brave Warriors acclimatizing in Bissau


The Brave Warriors had their first training in Bissau on Wednesday ahead of their crucial opening 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Group K qualification against the home side on Saturday, 10 June at the Estadio 24 de Setembro.

With the match taking place on Saturday, the Namibian boys had the feel of conditions in Bissau, Guinea Bissau capital and coach Ricardo Mannetti is satisfied to have more players joining the camp.

“ I happy to state that Petrus (Shitembi), Willem (Mwedihanga) and Benson (Shilongo) has joined the team and the training session today after their club commitments over the weekend. Wangu Gome too joined the training session after sitting out the two friendlies we had in Ghana. Otherwise we are waiting for the captain who is due to join by the end of the week” Mannetti explains.

Captain Ronald Ketjijere has confirmed that he will join the team by latest Friday. The coach adds that they expect a tough game in Bissau but remained focus on a favorable result.

“We come here to do the job. They are at home and they will be tough with the home support but we have the experience to handle this kind of situations by now and we are going all out for a good result. We don’t want to lose our opening game and we shall remain focused to ensure we get off to good start in this qualification”, says Mannetti.

Mannetti will announce the match-day 18 on Friday after assessing the captain as well. The Brave Warriors are competing in Group K, against Zambia, Mozambique and Guinea Bissau.

Here are the 24 Brave Warriors up for consideration: goalkeepers- Virgil Vries, Maximillian Mbaeva, defenders- Willem Mwedihanga, Tiberius Lombard, Chris Katjiukua, Ferdinand Karongee, Riaan Hanamub, Ananias Gebhardt, Larry Horaeb, Edmund Kambanda, midfielders- Ronald Ketjijere (captain), Denzil Haoseb, Oswaldo Xamseb, Dynamo Fredericks, Wang Gome, Benyamin Nenkavu, Deon Hotto, Petrus Shitembi, Absalom Iimbondi, strikers- Benson Shilongo, Itamunua Keimuine, Hendrick Somaeb, Peter Shalulile, Roger Katjiteo.