Otjozondjupa wins 2017 Newspaper Cup

Otjozondjupa wins newspaper cup.jpg

Otjozondjupa Region were crowned champions for the 2017 The Namibian Newspaper Cup after besting the host Erongo 2-1 in a pulsating final match played at the packed to the rafters Swakopmund’ s Vineta Sports Stadium on Easter Monday afternoon.

The final got to life as early as 19 minutes as Otjozondjupa striker Willem Kameisepo headed home from close range past Moses Shitayi in the Erongo goal to stun the home crowd.

Erongo tried as they may to get back into the game but Otjozondjupa’ s rearguard that included goalkeeper Paulus Abel, assisted by Mesutuje Ngunovandu, Vetarera Kotjipati, Ikuaterua Hengombe and Hubert Mingeri, thwarted all that Erongo threw at them.

In the second half, Otjozondjupa executed their plan to perfection as they won a free kick in promising position that was duly dispatched and converted by the straight shooting Romario Hawiseb on 47 minutes.

Anthony Kham, Isaskar Gurirab and Matheus Haihambo combined well for Erongo and with the introduction of Mbakondja Tjahikika and Veron Sitzer in the second half, the home side intensified the pressure on Otjozondjupa.

Erongo finally got their elusive goal midway the second half through a Patrick Naweb's penalty to get right back in it with the adrenaline levels on the pitch and in the stands at all-time high pumping as all held their nerves in the enthralling encounter.

However, Erongo’ s recovery was dealt a major blow as Aprocius Petrus was given a straight red card for dissent by youthful referee Willem Haitembu from Oshana Region. From thereon, Erongo, try as they may to get the equalizer and send the game into extra time but Otjozondjupa held on to and nearly snatched a third amid the barrage of attacks from Erongo.

In the end, Otjozondjupa record their third victory of the Namibian Newspaper Cup, their latest coming at home in 2013, with a 2-1 victory over a dejected Erongo Region.

Otjozondjupa captain and box to box midfielder Michael Kamuserandu won the Man of the award that came with N$500 and a trophy.

Hardap takes third place

Brendon Kotungondo scored the only goal of the match to propel Hardap region to a third-place finish with a 1-0 win over Khomas. Hardap star man Johannes Hollombach walked away with the Man of the Match award. Hardap walked away with N$10 000 and bronze medals while Khomas received N$5 000 for making the tournament a great spectacle.

During the awards ceremony, Oshana walked away with the Fair Play accolade ( N$ 3000 & Trophy) for their discipline on the pitch during the tournament and Willem Haitembu was selected as the Best Referee (N$ 1500 & trophy. Paulus Abel from Otjozondjupa walked away with the Goalkeeper of the Tournament Award (N$1500 & Trophy); Michael Kamuserandu from Otjozondjupa top scored with five goals (N$ 2000 & Trophy) and Lubeni Haukongo from Erongo was voted Player of the Competition (N$ 2000 & Trophy).

Altogether, 75 goals were scored by the regional teams in 22 matches while the two exhibitions matches recorded nine goals scored at the Vineta Sports Stadium. The Katima Sports Complex, Katima Mulilo, Zambezi region is the next venue for the 2018 The Namibian Newspaper Cup.