Erongo and Otjozondjupa in Newspaper Cup final

erongo 2.jpg

Erongo and Otjozondjupa will contest the final of the 2017 The Namibian Newspaper Cup on Easter Monday at the Vineta Sports Stadium after seeing off Hardap and Khomas regions respectively in the seminal on Easter Sunday afternoon.

The host region Erongo met Hardap in the first semifinal match and Mbakondja Tjahikika’ s educated left foot stuck a great free kick into the back of the net to put Erongo in the lead at halftime. In the second half, the cagey game came to live when Benni Mouton scored a brilliant goal for Hardap Region and that is all she wrote as they played out the 1-1 draw.

In the dramatic penalty shoot-out to decide the winner, Brendon Kotungondo from Hardap was saved by Moses Shitayi while Patrick Naweb scored the first one for Erongo. Innocent Beukes hit the upright for Hardap; Anthony Kham was saved for Erongo; Romario Umati scored for Hardap; Isaskar Gurirab scored for Erongo; Romario Mouton scored for Hardap; Lubeni Haukongo scored for Erongo; Patrick Amutyakala scored for Erongo and then Rivaldo Festus scored for Erongo to make it 4-3 in favor of the host on penalties. Goalkeeper Moses Shitayi won the Man of the Match accolade.

In the second seminal match, Otjozondjupa captain Michael Kamuserandu scored an early penalty for his side before Tuhafeni Leonard equalizer for Khomas for a 1-1 halftime score.

Kamuserandu again converted another spot-kick to regain the lead for Otjozondjupa Region but Leonard was not done as he too completed his brace midway the second half to make it 2-2 at fulltime.

Mesutuje Ngunovandu scored for Otjozondjupa; Wilfred Kamuingona missed for Khomas; Hubert Mingeri scored for Otjozondjupa; Natangwe scored for Khomas; Willem Kameisepo score for Otjozondjupa; Siyabonga Ramakutla scored for Khomas; Kamuserandu saved for Otjozondjupa; Leonard saved for Khomas; Veikko Iipinge scored for Otjozondjupa and Venovineja Tjikundi missed for Khomas to make it 4-3 in favor of Otjozondjupa. Kamuserandu walked away with the Man of the Match award.

On Easter Monday, Khomas and Hardap will battle for third place at 11h00 while the title crowning match is scheduled for 13h00 at the Vineta Sports Stadium.