Second to none Newspaper Cup underway

teams at opening ceremony.jpg

The 2017 The Namibian Newspaper Cup taking place at the Vineta Sports Stadium in Swakopmund is second to none in terms of organization according to hosting Governor, Erongo Governed Kleophas Mutjavikua.

Mutjavikua, officiating at the opening ceremony at the Stadium welcomed all to the regions, particularly to the coastal town of Swakopmund and declared the tournament one to remember.

“ Welcome to Erongo Region, welcome to Swakopmund, this is the best tournament ever of the Newspaper Cup and I urge to feel free, comfortable and relaxed as you enjoy great football during this Easter weekend. We are honored to host you and feel free to ask for help to make your stay even more memorable”, Mutjavikua said.

Barry Rukoro of the NFA thanked all stakeholders present to their commitment and hard work to the realization of the tournament, particularly the main sponsors, The Namibian Newspaper and Nedbank Namibia, Coca Cola and the Namibian Government.

the opening ceremony was also graced by the deputy minister of Youth and Sport Agnes Tjongarero as well as NFA President Frans Mbidi.

The Easter weekend under 20 regional football festival started off with a parade from Strand Hotel in town through the town of Swakopmund with all fourteen regions escorted by a classic BMW vehicles, popularly known as Gusheshe all the way to the expecting crowds at the Vineta Sport Stadium.

Hardap and Omusati open the 2017 The Namibia Newspaper Cup at 09h15 at the Vineta Sports Complex at Swakopmund on Good Friday. They form part of Group A, together with Oshana and Zambezi Regions. Omaheke, Kunene, Kavango East and Erongo Regions are in group B while Otjozondjupa, Ohangwena and Karas Regions completes Group C. Kavango West are in Group D, together with Khomas and neighbors Oshikoto Regions.

Program: Friday, 14 April: Omusati v Hardap, Zambezi v Oshana, Kavango East v Erongo, Omaheke vs Kunene, Ohangwena v //Karas, Khomas v Oshikoto; Oshana v Omusati; Zambezi v Hardap; Kunene v Kavango East;

Saturday, 15 April: Omaheke v Erongo, Otjozondjupa v //Karas, Kavango West v Oshikoto, Omusati v Zambezi, Oshana v Hardap, Kavango East v Omaheke, Kunene v Erongo, Ohangwena v Otjozondjupa, Khomas v Kavango West.

On Sunday, 16 April, the Group A winner will face the Group B equivalent; the Group C winner takes on the top team in Group D; while there will also be a select under-20 women's national team against the under-20 Erongo women's side match. The Namibian team will be taking on a Nedbank Team in the battle of the tournament's best players on the same day.

The final will be on Easter Monday to crown the 2017 The Namibian Newspaper Cup champions