First Divisions playoffs this weekend at Tsumeb, Gobabis and Rundu


The Namibia Football Association (NFA) has announced the promotional playoffs dates for the three national first divisions with action taking place this weekend at Rundu, Gobabis and Tsumeb in search of six teams to be promoted to the national first divisions.

At Rundu, the North-East First Division will hold trials for five regional second division winners with two to be promoted to the First divisions by Sunday, 24 July.

Ohangwena NAMPOL from Ohangwena Region; KCR Western Stars from Kavango West, Oshikoto NAMPOL of Oshikoto; Kangweru Black Tops from Kavango East and Bush Bucks from Zambezi Region will contest for honors at the Rundu Sports Stadium from 08h00 on Saturday. Seven games will take place on Saturday with three more on Saturday. Western Stars and Black Tops will open proceedings to be followed by Ohangwena NAMPOL against Buck Bucks.

Down central, Legare Stadium in Gobabis will be the place to be as Reho Madrid from Hardap, Sports Klub Windhoek from Khomas and Kom Haal Hulle from Omaheke will be joined by Mountain Rangers from Karas Region and Erongo Region’s Northern Stars for some fierce competition for places in the 2016/2017 Southern Stream First Division season.

The first match 08h00 will be between Mountain Rangers against Reho Madrid to be followed by Kom Haal Hulle versus Sport Klub Windhoek at 10h00 as seven games takes place on Saturday and three more on Sunday.

The North West First Division playoffs will take place at the prestigious Oscar Norich Stadium with only four clubs; Africa Motto from Oshana region, UNAM Ogongo from Omusati; Etosha United from Kunene and Otjozondjupa’ s Military School Okahandja FC all vying for two place in the first division next season.

Action will start at 10h00 as Africa Motto and Military School Okahandja goes head to head with UNAM Ogongo and Etosha United to clash at 12h00. At 16h00 it will be Motto vs UNAM and Military School against United. Two more games will be played on Sunday from 09h00.

Entrance to these games will be free .