NFPL teams drawn for league action

The Namibia Football Association(NFA) held a press conference on Thursday morning to announce the top tier of league football with a draw for the twelve (12) registered teams of the Namibia Premier Football League (NPFL) into two groups.

The transitional League will be a preparatory league for the 2021/2022 season, estimated to commence in August 2021 to June 2022. The teams are paired in accordance to their regions and the matches will be played in two phases, on a round-robin basis.

NPFL League Director Mabos Vries says after three years of inactive football in the country, the beautiful game of football is back at last.

“We have decided to reactivate football for those who are passionate about football but most especially for the betterment of players who were the most affected by these football politics.”

Vries says phase one will have the teams play on a round-robin basis and only playing once against the other. This means each play five (5) games and will be seated from one (1) to six (6) depending on their collected points.

Phase two (2) will see the teams advance to the next stage based on their position on the log, which ultimately places them into three leagues, consisting of four teams that will play each other on a home-and-away basis.

The three leagues are called the Golden League, The Silver League and lastly the Bronze League.

The bounce back will kick off on the 17th April to 30 July 2021 with the official launch will take place this Saturday at the NFA.

In group A are: Mighty Gunners, Tigers FC, Eleven Arrows, Young African, Black Africa, Tura Magic.

Group B: Civics, citizens, Julinho Sporting, Orlando Pirates, Blue Waters, Young Brazilians.