Warriors host Chad on Wednesday in AFCON qualifier

The Brave Warriors turns their attention to the 2021 African Cup of Nations Qualifiers as they host Chad on Wednesday afternoon, 18h00 at the Sam Nujoma Stadium and then travel to Conakry to take on Guinea on Sunday.

Bobby Samaria’s busy schedule with the Brave Warriors continues and after losing the Dr. Hage Geingob Cup 2-0 to Zambia on Saturday, he has named 28 players in preparations for the Group A AFCON 2021 qualifiers with two games in five days. The other team in this group are Mali.

Returning to the fold, after the 2019 AFCON Finals appearance is English-based defender Ryan Nyambe as well as Riaan Hanamub of Jomo Cosmos, while Edward Maova, who was in goal in that 2-0 defeat to Zambia, also makes the 28 men squad.

Zambian Super League-based midfielder Benjamin Nenkavu also returns to the fold, while upfront Panduleni Nekundi joins Joslin Kamatuka, Captain Peter Shalulile and Benson Shilongo, amongst others.

And having already led the local-based players to the second consecutive African Nations Championship (CHAN) finals to be played in Cameroon in January, interim coach Samaria now sets sights on the 2021 AFCON finals, for as long as he remains in charge.

“It’s a big game for us to play our first AFCON qualifiers at home. Home games matters so much and we need to show up to ensure we get the job done. Lessons were taken from the Zambia defeat and we march on towards qualification for the next AFCON finals. As for Ryan, he will be making his home debut and it’s important that with the help from his teammates he settles in quick and do the job for his country”, Samaria states.

For the Wednesday clash, 18h00, not 17h00 as initially indicated, tickets are selling at Pick n Pay stores countrywide and Football House for N$30 each.

Here are the 28 players: Virgil Vries, Loydt Kazapua, Ratanda Mbazuvara and Edward Maova; Defenders- Aprocious Petrus, Ivan Kamberipa, Emilio Martin, Teberius Lombard, Ryan Nyambe, Larry Horaeb, Denzil Haoseb, Chris Katjiukua and Riaan Hanamub; Midfielders- Marcel Papama, Immanuel Heita , Dynamo Fredericks, Llewelyn Stanley ,Absalom Iimbondi , Petrus Shitembi, Wangu Gome, Benyamin Nenkavu, Deon Hotto; Strikers- Isaskar Gurirab, Elmo Kambindu, Panduleni Nekundi, Peter Shalulile, Benson Shilongo and Joslin Kamatuka.