Warriors not there yet despite Ghana win

The Brave Warriors are bracing themselves for two weeks of hard work despite their morale boasting 1-0 win over Ghana on Sunday in a friendly match ahead of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations finals that starts in Egypt on 21 June.

Coach Ricardo Mannetti, reacting to the win on Sunday in Dubai in which Manfred Starke scored winner in the first half, says the lads perfomed well on the day.

” The guys that started the match played so well and worked their socks off and Loydt Kazapua was our man of the match with some fine crucial saves. He was very consistent and confident throughout the match.

The guys that came on made sure we kept our composure and kept the scoreline protected”.

The coach adds that despite the win, the next two weeks will be tough.

” We not there yet. We have a lot to work on before we go to AFCON. The next two weeks will be very tough. We have now worked on our defensive behavior. We need to control the games and make sure we in charge of the games we are going to play” states Mannetti.

Mannetti reveals that he will announce his 23 men squad for the AFCON Finals by Monday, 10 June.

The Brave Warriors are in Group D at the 32nd Afcon finals and will play Morocco on June 23 before taking on South Africa on June 28, both at Al Salam Stadium. They will play their final group game against Ivory Coast on 1 July at Cairo International Stadium.

Warriors vs Ghana: Loydt Kazapua, Riaan Hanamub, Larry Horaeb, Denzil Haoseb,Ryan Nyambe, Ronald Ketjijere, Manfred Starke, Deon Hotto, Petrus Shitembi, Itamunua Keimuine and Peter Shalulile.

Players in camp are: Ratanda Mbazuvara, Virgil Vries, Loydt Kazapua, Max Mbaeva, Ryan Nyambe, Larry Horaeb, Chris Katjiukua, Teberius Lombard, Denzil Haoseb, Ivan Kamberipa, Charles Hambira, Riaan Hanamub, Ananias Gebhardt, Absalom Iimbondi, Willy Stephanus, Petrus Shitembi, Ronald Ketjijere, Dynamo Fredericks, Marcel Papama, Wesley Katjiteo, Manfred Starke, Benjamen Nenkavu, Deon Hotto, Itamunua Keimuine, Benson Shilongo, Peter Shalulile, Joslyn Kamatuka and Isaskar Gurirab.