Warriors beat Seychelles

Namibia Premier League Top Goalscorer Isaskar Gurirab scored twice to give Nambia a 3-0 win over Seychelles at the 2019 Cosafa Cup underway in Durban.

Namibia finished second in the pool after a comprehensive 3-0 victory over Seychelles, ending a promising tournament for them with a largely home-based squad devoid of the major stars.

Namibia eased to their success, set on their way by two first-half goals from Issaskar Gurirab.
They were always too strong for Seychelles and continued to rain in shots on goal, finally being rewarded with a third goal through Sadney Urikhob at the Princess Magogo Stadium in Kwamashu.

Defender Jeituso scored a late equaliser for Mozambique as they held Group B winners Malawi to a 1-1 draw in their final pool match at the King Zwelithini Stadium on Thursday.

The Flames had already qualified for the quarterfinals before the game, and looked set to keep up their winning run before being pegged back by a late goal from The Mambas.

Mozambique are third with two points, and Seychelles end with one, with the former especially disappointed after they had targeted a knockout place from the pool.

Malawi took the lead after a goalkeeping error from Victor between the sticks for Mozambique when he dropped the ball after what looked a routine catch.

Hassan Kajoke reacted quickest to the loose ball and scored from barely a metre out to net a sixth goal of the competition for The Flames.

Mozambique should have equalised when Witi’s trickery on the right flank produced a delicious cross that was headed wide by Nilton when it seemed easier to score.

There were chances at either end, but in the case of Malawi too often the final ball failed to find a Flames player.

The Mambas finally got their goal when defender Jeituso ghosted into the box from a corner kick and provided an excellent leap to head into the back of the net.

Brave Warriors vs Seychelles:
Ratanda Mbazuvara, Ivan Kamberipa, Aprocious Petrus, Llewelyn Stanley, Marcel Papama, Junias Theofilus, Edmund Kambanda, Emilio Martin, Isaskar Gurirab, Wesley Katjiteo and Joslin Kamatuka.