Benjamin names Warriors for Cosafa Cup

Coach Collin Benjamin on Tuesday named 20 players that will feature for the Brave Warriors at the upcoming 2019 Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Cup in Durban between 25 May and 08 June.

The team leaves  for Durban on Thursday afternoon and  will see Namibia participating in Group B, where they will play Mozambique on 26 May and Malawi on 28 May at King Zwelithini Stadium before finishing their group stage matches against Seychelles on 30 May at the Princess Magogo Stadium.

The squad consists largely of home-based players, with only Lloyd Kazapua, Sadney Urikhob and Joslyn Kamatuka being the inclusions not plying their trade locally.

The winners of the group will face Zambia in the quarterfinal match set for 02 June at Princess Magogo Stadium.

The winners will play in the semi-finals, while the losers will participate in the plate finals.

In 2018, Namibia lost 5-4 on penalties to Zambia in the quarterfinals, before being thrashed 4-1 by hosts South Africa in the semi-finals of the plate competition.

The Cosafa squad is as follows:
Ratanda Mbazuvara, Lloyd Kazapua, Larry Horaeb, Charles Hambira, Vitapi Ngaruka, Ivan Kamberipa, Emilio Martin, Aprocious Petrus and Edmund Kambanda, Absalom Iimbondi, Aubrey Amseb, Dynamo Fredericks, Marcel Papama, Wesley Katjiteo and Llewelyn Stanley, McCartney Naweseb, Isaskar Gurirab, Junias Theophilus, Joslyn Kamatuka and Sadney Urikhob.