Somaeb and Keimuine out of Mozambique clash


Brave Warriors coach Ricardo Mannetti has announced travelling team to take on Mozambique on 13 in Maputo in their 2019 African Cup of Nations (AFCON) Group K qualifier with three players trimmed from the initial 26 group.

Goalkeeper Ratanda Mbazuvara of African Stars and Serbian-based Hendrick Somaeb as well as Ethiopian-based Itamunua Keimuine will not travel to Maputo as the Brave Warriors jets out of Gauteng on Thursday for their Saturday afternoon clash at 17h00.

Coach Mannetti reveals that Somaeb misses out due to injury while Keimuine is absent due to issues with flight connections.

“Somaeb has been struggling with injury of late, trying to get fit to his full fitness and this time he’s out. Itamunua is missing due to lack of proper connections from his town to fly over to Johannesburg in time for our training camp. We therefore take 23 players to Maputo and the objective remain the same to get a result away from home”.

Mbazuvara misses as Loydt Kazapua, Virgil Vries and Max Mbaeva are the three goalkeepers making the trip. The starting line-up will be revealed on Saturday morning, Mannetti says.

The team will return to Windheok on Sunday to prepare for the Tuesday night return leg at the Sam Nujoma Satdium, with kickoff set for 19h00. Tickets for the Tuesday match are selling for N$ 50 on Computicket outlets and at Football House.

The final home game will be against Guinea Bissau between 12-20 November before they visit Zambia in March 2019. The group winner and the runner-up will qualify for the 32nd edition of the Total African Cup of Nations to be played in Cameroon from 15 June to 13 July 2019.

The Brave Warriors for Mozambique clash: Maximillian Mbaeva (Golden Arrows, RSA), Virgil Vries (Kaizer Chiefs, RSA), Loydt Kazapua (Macabbi FC, RSA) Larry Horaeb (Unattached), Emilio Martin (Black Africa), Tiberius Lombard (Lusaka Dynamos, Zambia), Charles Hambira (Baroka, RSA) Denzil Haoseb (Highlands Park, RSA), Vitapi Ngaruka (Black Africa), Riaan Hananub (Jomo Cosmos, RSA) Ananias Gebhardt (Baroka, RSA), Dynamo Fredericks (Black Africa), Petrus Shitembi (Unattached), Ronald Ketjijere (African Stars), Wangu Batista Gome (Cape Umoya, RSA), Immanuel Heita (Black Africa), Absalom Iimbondi (Tigers), Deon Hotto (Bidvest Wits), Willy Stephanus (AC Kanjaani, Finland), Marcel Papama (Unam), Muna Katupose (Unam), Sadney Urikhob (Unattached), Benson Shilongo (Smouha, Egypt).