Mannetti names Cosafa Cup hopefuls


Petrus Shitembi and Benson Shilongo will have to sit out of this year’s Tafel Lager Brave Warriors Squad for the upcoming Cosafa Cup due to injuries as coach Ricardo Mannetti names 24 players for training camp.

The Confederation of Southern Africa Football Associations (Cosafa) Cup will be hosted in Limpopo provincial capital Polokwane, South Africa from27th of May until 9th of June 2018 and the Brave Warriors have a date against Zambia in the quarterfinals on June 2.

On Tuesday at Football House, coach Mannetti, who guided the team to the title in 2015, named 24 players which will later be trimmed to 20 ahead of the teams’ departure.

“We playing against a strong team, Zambia are a stronger nation than Namibia, they have won AFCON, participated at CHAN a couple of times, and they have a stronger football nation compared to us. Last year was not a good year for us but when I look at this current squad, it is well balanced, there is a lot of strength, respect among players and for the technical team and with that we can move mountains” Mannetti said.

He added that Loydt Kazapua and Larry Horaeb will not be part of the squad because they have not been playing competitive football for a couple of months now while Benson Shilongo and Petrus Shitembi are out with Injuries. Dynamo Fredericks and Peter Shalulile are recovering from injuries h and will join available for training starting next week.

The Brave Warriors Training Squad which will kick off practice today at the NFA Technical Centre consists of: Ratanda Mbazuvara (African Stars), Maximillian Mbaeva (Golden Arrows) Edward Maova (Civics), Ferdinand Karongee (Tigers) Vitapi Ngaruka (Black Africa), Tiberius Lombard (Lusaka Dynamos),Danzil Haoseb (Jomo Cosmos),Donovan Kanjaa(Young African) Riaan Hanamub ( Orlando Pirates), Charles Hambira (Tura Magic) Emilio Martin (Black Africa), Ananias Gebhardt ( Jomo Cosmos) Ronald Ketjijere (African Stars) Gustav Isaak, Absalom Iimbondi( Tigers) Ikuaterua Hoveka(Young African),Wangu Gome (Platinum Stars)Marcel Papama (UNAM ) Willem Pinehas, (Eleven Arrows)Peter Shalulile( Highlands Park)Deon Hotto( Bloemfontein Celtic) Panduleni Nekundi( African Stars),Itamunua Keimuine(Tura Magic).