Baby Warriors prepares for Cosafa U/17 Champs

Baby Warriors wins cosafa cup 2016.png

The Namibia Football Association (NFA) has called up 32 players for a training camp in preparations for the upcoming 2018 Cosafa Under 17 Championship to be held in Mauritius from 19 to 29 July, a competition the Baby Warriors won in 2016.

The Baby Warriors for the first time ever won an international tournament when they defeated South Africa to be crowned the 2016 Cosafa Under 17 Champions on the Island of Mauritius and having missed to defend their title last year due to lack of funds, preparations for participation in 2018 are will on track with 32 players invited for a training camp under the watchful eye of head coach Pauhl Shakes Malembu.

The youngsters were scouted at the 2017 Skorpion Zinc Under 17 Cup, attended their first training camp this last week with a few players failing to have made the trip for the trials.

“Not all the players that were called up came to the training camp but we are confident we can get the desired outcome from this camp, the best possible team to go to Mauritius and make history from themselves. The class of 2016 did their part and we now have to preserve the legacy and be counted in the region”, says Team Manager Cole Mungendje.

Mungendje adds that more players will be scouted during this weekend’s Namibia National Youth Games taking place in Windhoek under the auspices of the Namibia Sports Commission.

“These games have come at an opportune time for the technical team to widen the net and reassess the options available. We will be very busy this weekend and in the coming weeks the team will take shape indeed”, he states.

Here are the 32 players initially called up: John Muronga (Kavango East), Titus Domingo, Johannes Salom and Merekisedek Hamukoto(Oshana), Erastus Ambambi, Erastus Nginoshiho (Omusati), Norman Ameb, MUtani Boois, Viuaa Kuhanga, Morgan Nanuseb, Joshua Kayimbi, Mbitjita Kaeka and Bradley Hanixab (Otjozondjupa), Promis Gurirab, Steven Damaseb, Thomas Bantam, Prince Tjiueza and Tyrone George (Erongo), Denzel Narib, John-Paul Beukes (Khomas), Collin Mbatjangovasi, Petwilla Kangameni, Masego Hobexab, Vicento Ganeb and Viera Kazongominja (Omaheke), Dandre Both and Heinrich Plaatjies (!Karas), Petrus Kaveto and Pedritu Hausiku (Kavango West), Jamol Somseb (Oshikoto), Justin Schuster (Hardap) and Okamaru Gao-Khoib (Kunene).