Guther names Young Warriors for Cosafa youth champs


Gerald Guther has named 19 players to represent Namibia at the 2017 Cosafa Under-20 championships finals in Zambia with the team’s first game on Friday against Angola in Group C at the Arthur Davies Stadium in Kitwe.

Following a two weeks training camp in Ghana that saw 26 players taken through the ropes, head coach Guther finally made the cuts, dropping seven players as only 19 made the flight to Zambia on Wednesday morning.

Regular youth level player such as Eldery Morgan, George Hummel, Lubeni Haukongo, Stanley Ndjavera and Tuhafeni Leonard made the team but the skillful UNAM FC‘s Venovineja Tjikundi is dropped, together with African Stars’ Michael Kamuserandu, who was the star of the 2017 The Namibian Newspaper Cup tournament.

Marciano January from Eleven Arrows also failed to make the team that embark upon their least journey to reach at least the semifinals of the regional youth championships, a target coach Guther revealed earlier this week.

Cosafa has revised the fixtures and the Young Warriors will face Angola on Friday, 08 December, 11h30, at the Arthur Davies Stadium and then play their second game against Lesotho on Sunday, 10 December, 12h00 at the Nkana Stadium. The final group C game against Zimbabwe will be on 12 December at the Nkana Stadium as well, 15h00.

Group B consist of last year’s runners-up South Africa, North African guests Egypt, Mozambique and Mauritius. Group A consist of African champions Zambia, Swaziland, East African guest nation Uganda and Malawi. The top teams in each pool advance to the semifinals along with the best-placed runner-up.

Matches will be played at the Arthur Davies and Nkana stadiums in Kitwe. The group stage will be completed on December 12, followed by a rest day, with the semifinals to be staged at the Arthur Davies Stadium on December 14. The third-place play-off and the final will move to the Levy Mwanawasa in Ndola on December 16.

Here is 19 Young Warriors : Calvin Spiegel (Chief Santos) Vipua Tjimune (African Stars), Lubeni Haukongo and Aprocius Petrus (Eleven Arrows), Stanley Ndjavera (Tura Magic), Romario Hawiseb (African Stars, Paul Kotjipati (Spoilers FC), Migeri Hubert (Life Fighters ), Johannes Hollombach (Chief Santos), George Hummel (UNAM FC), Anthony Kham and Rivaldo Festus( Eleven Arrows), Augustinus Hobexab (Eastern Chiefs), Eldery Morgan and Enzo Mungendje (both Tura Magic), Moegamat Davids (South Africa), Natangwe Petrus (Khomas) and Petrus Kamati (Karas), Tuhafeni Leonard (TUKS, South Africa).