We take the blame for the exit- Isaacs

memory vs Lesotho.jpg

The Brave Gladiators have themselves to blame for their surprise exit from the 2017 Cosafa Women Championship underway in Zimbabwe due to bad approaches and lack of goals in their final two games of Group C.

Looking back on a disastrous journey to Zimbabwe, Brave Gladiators coach Brian Isaacs states that the whole team should take blame for the Group elimination, particularly the final group game against minnows Lesotho on Sunday.

“ To be honest Lesotho were the weakest team in our group and we failed to beat them. Our approach in the final game was wrong. We watched them play South Africa and ahead of the game, we heard that Zimbabwe had finished on five points and so it was for us to win and take the best runner up position and a place in the semis but we blew it. We forgot to play the game and that made it hard for us,” Isaacs reveals.

He adds that despite controlling the game, the team failed to take their chances and were awful in defence that made it easy for Lesotho.

“We controlled the game well and had so many chances to win the game but somehow could not find the back of the net. We then conceded two errors and Lesotho punished us from free kicks and they grew in confidence and held on to win. We blame ourselves indeed”.

On the South African game, Isaacs says despite having more time to prepare for the game, South Arica’s approach was clinical.

“They started like a house on fire and were two up inside 10 minutes and that made things difficult as our ladies started to doubt their own abilities but we stabilized the ship and got a goal before halftime. In the second half we were better but again conceded again” explains Isaacs.

Namibia started off their campaign with an impressive 4-0 hammering of Botswana before losing to South Africa and Lesotho to all but finish bottom the table on
three points in Group C.

Today, Zambia and South Africa will meet in the first semifinal at 13h00 while Kenya and Zimbabwe will lock horns at 16h00 to determine the 2017 Cosafa Women Championship finalists.