Gladiators falter against South Africa


Despite a gallant performance on Friday afternoon at the Barbourfields Stadium in Bulawayo, the Brave Gladiators lost 3-1 to South Africa in their 2017 Cosafa Women Championship Group C tussle as the latter goes top of the group.

The match was billed as the match of the group-stage and it turned out to be just that as the two neighbors locked horns for three points, top of Group C and bragging rights and in the end the ladies south of the Orange River ran out 3-1 winners.

South Africa got the first goal of the match on five minutes through two goals hero Thembi Kgatlana and it was soon 2-0 thanks to Chantelle Esau on 13 minutes.

Later in the half Namibia had the ascendency and they got their reward and goal through Millicent Hikuam on 37 minutes, assisted by star player Zenatha Coleman who a minute earlier had a shot at goal saved by the South African goalkeeper.

Coleman continued to show her class as she remained a thorn in the flesh of the South Africans but it was not be as she failed to hit the back of the net on several occasions and the on 88 minutes, Kgatlana completed her brace, assisted by the second goal scorer Esau.

Overall, the Gladiators had four shots of which three were on target while South Africa had 10 on target. South Africa dominated the corner kicks count with eight to Namibia’s one and four more percentage of ball possession with 54 with the Gladiators on 46.

The Brave Gladiators will finish off against Lesotho on 17 September, 16h00 in Bulawayo, the same time that South Africa play Botswana. The Group winner will go to play the winner of Group A in the first semifinal while Group C winners will await the best-runner up for the second penultimate match. The 2017 Cosafa Women Championship is live on Namibia Broadcasting Corporations (NBC) , channel 6.

The Gladiators vs South Africa, Cosafa Women Championship: Melisa Matheus, Iina Katuta, Uerikondjera Kasaona (captain), Twelikondjela Amukoto, Ester Amukwaya, Zenatha Coleman, Memory Ngonda, Lovisa Mulunga and Vistorine Shangula, Vewe Kotjipati, Millicent Hikuam.