Brave Warriors ready to face Comoros

Warriors at stade de moroni.jpg

The Brave Warriors are ready to face Comoros on Sunday in the 2017 CAF African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifiers third round first leg match following their inspection of the Stade de Moroni on Saturday afternoon.

The Namibian had their first taste of Stade de Moroni, a few minutes after arrival in Comorian capital and according to coach Ricardo Mannetti, the idea was feel the pitch on which the battle will play out on Sunday in the two countries’ quest for qualification to the continental showpiece reserved for local-based players.

“We came here to assess the pitch in terms of hardness and to break some sweat from the boys. It was not to push hard because we play around the same time tomorrow and we achieved that perfectly. We are ready to go out there and get a positive result comes Sunday and we remain confident in our goal”, Mannetti explains.
The Brave Warriors coach adds that he has no injury concerns and will make his final match-day 18 announcement on Sunday morning.

“I have to sleep on it and in the morning I will tell you who plays and who sits on the bench. We have 20 players and we need 11 on the pitch and seven on the bench and we have to get it right with the selection. I will consult my technical team and make my final decision,” Mannetti states.

Namibia has never been this close to CHAN qualification and stand a good chance of making their maiden appearance at the championships, which will be held in Kenya early next year.

Comoros and Namibia will meet at 15h00, Comorian time, 13h00 Namibian, and the Brave Warriors will fly back home immediately on the charted Air Namibia Embraer aircraft.

The second leg will take place at the Sam Nujoma Stadium on Sunday, 20 August, 15h00 and the NFA will use the game to pay tribute to the late Robbie Savage who was laid to rest on Saturday, 29 July.

Brave Warriors in Comoros: goalkeepers: Charles Uirab, Edward Maova , Defenders- Tiberius Lombard, Charles Hambira, Ferdinand Karongee, Riaan Hanamub, Larry Horaeb, Edmund Kambanda, midfielders- Ronald Ketjijere (captain), Dynamo Fredericks, Oswaldo Xamseb, Immanuel Heita, Benyamin Nenkavu, Petrus Shitembi, Absalom Iimbondi, strikers- Itamunua Keimuine, Hendrick Somaeb, Roger Katjiteo, Mapenzi Muwanei and Muna Katupose.