Baby Warriors departs for Westphalia


The baby Warriors will depart for Westphalia on Wednesday night for their bi-annual Germany two-weeks developmental tour thanks to the bilateral agreement between the Namibian government and the Westphalia Football Association in conjunction with the NFA.

The team will be hosted at the prestigious Kamen-Kaiserau Sports Centre and will amongst others play against Homburcher SV Under-18 on Saturday and will also get a chance to experience the German Under-17 Final DFB on Sunday.

The travelling Namibians boys are the baby Warriors that won the 2016 Cosafa under-17 championships with the likes of Mbakondja Tjahikika, Eldery Morgan, Lubeni Haukongo and Johannes Hollombach.

The team will be coached by Cosafa title winning assistant coach Pauhl Malembu, and will play no less than seven matches during their stay as well as visit the German Football Museum, among others.

NFA President Frans Mbidi states that the development of the winning generation continues thanks to this agreement.

“This agreement marked 20 years in 2015 and remains a very important one for us. Yes the boys won Cosafa but now they go to Germany to further develop themselves. They will be around state of the art facilities and engage in a lot of football related activities and that is what holistic development is all about”, Mbidi says.
He adds that as long as the boys are afforded platforms to play, their development was still on track and there is no need to panic.

“At this age the boys need this kind of exposure so that as they graduate through the ranks they can handle the pressure and different environments. They had a good 2016 and even fared well in the 2017 African Under-17 qualifiers and now this is a new level for them”, explains Mbidi.

The tour is funded by Westphalia Football Association.

Here is the travelling 18-boys squad and first 15 of them were in Mauritius for the historic cosafa triumph: Philipus Josef, Godwin Awaseb, Johannes Hollombach, Lubeni Haukongo, Dawid Morgan JR, Stanley Ndjavera, Mbakondja Tjahikika, Vaino Uugwanga, Pitsi Amseb, Giovani Kaninab, Stevano Dundee, Denzil Narib, Junior Petrus, Megameno Kapuku, Jovane Narib, Mbajoroka Kahuure, Immanuel Hamunyela and Godwin Eiseb.