Ketjijere aims for 2019 AFCON as pinnacle

ronald and peter.jpg

The 2019 Africa Cup of Nations Qualification that starts this weekend presents a chance for Brave warriors captain Ronald Ketjijere to stake a claim at representing his country at the major football spectacle.

Having captained the Brave warriors to their first-ever major international triumph, the 2015 Cosafa Castle Cup, Ronald Ketjijere cemented his place in local football folklore but the captain wants the AFCON as his swansong.

Ketjijere indicates that this will hopefully be his last AFCON qualifiers and therefore the team need to do well and reach the finals in Cameroon in 2019.

“ I’m 29 and in December turns 30, not getting any younger and so for now I believe this AFCON qualifiers will be my last and I would love to make it to the actual finals. Before I hang up my boots I need to play in a major international tournament and the AFCON is within reach at the moment.”

He adds that the teams that the Brave Warriors are competing against in Group K, Zambia, Mozambique and Guinea Bissau are beatable and thus they stand a chance to reach the finals.

“On paper and on recent form against these teams with the exception of Guinea Bissau, they are beatable and we need to keep focus. We cannot use the inactiveness of our league as an excuse we have a lot of foreign-based players who, also will take this qualifiers seriously due to age as well and so we have a good chance , better chance of qualification more than ever”, explains Ketjijere.

The captain Ketjiere’s will join the by the end of the week, ahead of the Saturday, 10 June, crunch game at Bissau in what he terms the “crucial and important qualifiers for his group”. We made history by winning Cosafa and now we surely can strive to qualify for AFCON as a group”.

Coach Ricardo Mannetti last Thursday left for Accra with the Brave Warriors for a training camp and the team departs for Bissau on 07 June 2017.

Here are the 24 Brave Warriors: goalkeepers- Virgil Vries, Maximillian Mbaeva, defenders- Willem Mwedihanga, Tiberius Lombard, Chris Katjiukua, Ferdinand Karongee, Riaan Hanamub, Ananias Gebhardt, Larry Horaeb, Edmund Kambanda, midfielders- Ronald Ketjijere (captain), Denzil Haoseb, Oswaldo Xamseb, Dynamo Fredericks, Wang Gome, Benyamin Nenkavu, Deon Hotto, Petrus Shitembi, Absalom Iimbondi, strikers- Benson Shilongo, Itamunua Keimuine, Hendrick Somaeb, Peter Shalulile, Roger Katjiteo.