Regions conclude Debmarine Namibia Cup

debmarine cup 2017.jpeg

Oshikoto and Ohangwena regions will conclude their Debmarine Namibia Cup legs this week while the North-East First Division will kick off this weekend together with the Southern Steam while North-West will conclude this weekend at Outjo.

In Omusati region, Future FC beat Blue Birds 3-1 to reach the final against Ogongo FC who trounced Young Braves 2-1 in the semifinals. In the pulsating final match Ogongo and Future looked horns and after regulation time it was tied at one-all. Ogongo FC held their nerves and won 4-3 on penalties to reach the last 32 round of the Debmarine Namibia Cup.

King Fischer FC beat Namib Chiefs 2-1 to be crowned Zambezi region’s finest. Fisher defeated Buck Bucks 5-3 on penalties after a goalless draw in penultimate game while Chiefs also won on penalties, 5-4 after a one-all draw against Katima Wanderers.

Omaheke region will be represented in the last -32 round by regional winners Eastern Chiefs. Chiefs defeated Kom Hall Hulle 5-4 in the final match at the Legare Stadium on Sunday. Hulle reached the final courtesy of a 4-3 on penalties over Kanaan United after they drew 1-1, while Chiefs were narrow 1-0 winners against Omaheke NAMPOL FC.

Otjiwarongo FC (OFC) are the Otjozondjupa regional Debmarine Namibia Cup winners after they defeated Dynamos 3-1 in the final at the Mokati Stadium on Sunday at Otjiwarongo. OFC reached the final after they defeated a spirited Okakarara Warriors 2-1 and Dynamos reached the final with a 5-4 penalties win over Sundowns.

At the Vineta Stadium in Swakopmund, Gendev FC are champions of the Erongo regional leg of the Debmarine Namibia Cup.

Oshana region will have Khuse FC as regional in the next round after they defeated Foxy Seniors 2-0 at the Independence Stadium in Oshakati on Sunday. Khuse were 4-2 winners over Brave Lions after one-all draw and Seniors were 1-0 winners against Vietnam Rangers.

Bee Bob Brothers are Hardap champions while Young Beauties are Karas champions.

This weekend, two regional winners, King Fischer FC of Zambezi and Oshikoto regional winners (winner to be determined on 22 February) will face off this coming Saturday at the Katima Mulilo Sports Complex to battle out for a spot in the next round to make it 13 second division clubs instead of 14.