SKW, Northern Stars, Black Tops, Motto joins First Divisions

skw 2016.JPG

There are six new clubs for next season’s first divisions while Young Rangers retained their berth in the North East First Division following promotional playoffs held over the weekend at Tsumeb, Gobabis and Grootfontein.

At the Oscar Norich Stadium in Tsumeb, four clubs Okahandja Military School (Otjozondjupa), Etosha United (Kunene), Africa Motto (Oshana) and UNAM Ogongo (Omusati) battled out for three spots in the North West First Division for next season and it was UNAM, Okahandja and Motto that won promotion.

Motto lost 3-2 to Okahandja on Saturday while UNAM thumped Etosha 4-0. UNAM demolished Motto 4-1 and Okahandja crushed Etosha 5-0. On Sunday, Okahandja and UNAM played to a one-all draw before Motto defeated Etosha 3-2.

At the Legare Stadium in Gobabis, Norther Stars from Erongo Region and Sport Klub Windhoek (SKW) from Khomas won promotion to the Southern Stream First Division as they took top honors at the playoffs that had five clubs in contention.

To be promoted, SKW beat Omaheke Region’s Kom Haal Hulle 1-0, Mountain Rangers from Karas 2-, drew 2-2 against Reho Madrid and lost 2-0 to the ruthless Northern Stars.

Stars won all four of their games, as they also whitewashed Rangers 3-1, humiliated Haal Hulle 6-0 and Madrid 3-0 to make it 12 points from four games with SKW in second place on seven points.

Up north at the Omulunga Stadium in Grootfontein, Oshikoto Region’s Young Rangers retained their North East First Division status as they won Group B of the playoffs and are joined by Kavango East Region’s Kangweru Black Tops, who won Group A.

Black Tops bested Oshikoto NAMPOL 3-2 and then finished off with a identical victory over Zambezi region’s Bush Bucks on Sunday to win Group A. Young Stars, in the playoffs after finishing 10th in the North East First Division, defeated Ohangwena NAMPOL 2-0 on Saturday and then drew one-all against Kavango West Region’s Western Stars to take Group B.