Referees in Refresher Course

NB: Please be informed that the the Referees Refresher course that was scheduled for the football for Hope Center in Katutura will now take place at Soccer House.

The NFA National Referees Committee will be hosting a week-long FIFA/CAF Elite Referees Refresher Course in Windhoek, starting Monday, to be facilitated by amongst others former South Africa referee legend Ian McLeod.

This came in wake of the three of the committee members participation at the FIFA Referees Course in Swaziland recently, where they were introduced to various facets of the game that will be improved upon by April 2011.

Chairperson of the National Referees Committee Rudolph Shaya Mupiri said the Refresher course will start on Monday at 07h00 at the Windhoek’s Independence Stadium with a Fitness Test to all 27 referees’ participants and will be conducted by FIFA’s Regional Referees Chief Carlos Henriques, Zimbabwean retired referee Felix Tangawarima and Malawi’s Marko Mzengo, together with McLeod.

The referees will be taken back to the basics of officiating the beautiful game with Law 11 of the game, which includes, the 'Offside Position', ‘Involvement in Active play' and 'Flagging techniques'.

'Recognising unfair challenge' is party of Law 12 of the rules governing the game and will be covered together with 'Denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity' amongst others.

The participants will also be introduced to the amendments to the Laws of the game, qualities of a referee and the Interpretation and Application of the rules of the game.

Barry Rukoro-NFA Secretary General, Klaus Staerk-NFA Technical Director, Timothy “Timo” Tjongarero-NFA/CAF Education Officer and Titus Kunamwene-NFA Competition Manager will witness the course for the NFA.

The 27 elite referees in Namibia are the following individuals:
Rainhold Shikongo, Ananias Kangandi, Fillemon Shikongo, Gotlieb Matheus, Benedictus Nashenda, Dawid Shaanika, Matheus Kanyanga, Mervin Tjiueza, Helmut Andreas, Immanuel Mattsi, Reinhold Gurirab, Dawid Jansen, Cornelius Kheib, Martin Ndara, Alfeus Shipanga, Kapenda Jesaya, Erastus Shilonga, Alex Tiyeho, Christof Dauseb, Abraham Awaseb, Rodney Rooinasie, Hendrick Swartbooi, Jonas Katanga, John Chika, Milla Gei-Khoebeb, Liston Kei-Khoebeb and Gavin Nunues.

These referees represents the Khomas, Hardap, Erongo, Oshikoto, Caprivi, Otjozondjupa, Oshana and Kavango regions.